Home > Garden Diary 2009 > I am Starting My Seeds Indoors This Year: Spinach, Broccoli and Apple Trees

I am Starting My Seeds Indoors This Year: Spinach, Broccoli and Apple Trees

My Gardening Adventure for 2009 has begun. This year I am going to start my plants indoors. Take a look at the following video to see all the supplies I have compiled over the past three years.

Since it is the beginning of February, I figured I should start some of the cold tolerant vegetables. This year I wanted to try some broccoli. I also planted some spinach that I thought I would leave on the windowsill over the course of the summer. I also planted a few apples.

100_1106

I am using Scotts Potting Soil to get things started this year. When I transfer everything to bigger containers, I will have to see what soil is on sale. I will let you know what I buy when I know.

100_1108

When I popped out the drainage holes on the bottom of the container, it cracked all the way across. I should have use a utility knife to pop the first one out. That is what I used on the second one. I am still going to use this pot this year. I don’ think it is going to give me any problems.

100_1109

I filled the container with potting soil and pushed holes into the soil with my finger. In each, I planted seeds. I planted six spinach plants, four apples trees and four broccoli plants.

100_1107

I placed the whole thing on the windowsill and poured two small juice glasses of water on top. We will see what comes up.

100_1111

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment